The International Commission
on Dynamical Meteorology




Terms of Reference



Business Meetings




The International Commission on Dynamical Meteorology was established in its current form by the International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Physics (IAMAP) (now the Interational Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences, IAMAS) at its plenary session in Zurich, Switzerland in 1967. The commission was established in response to an increasing awareness of the importance of dynamical meteorology to an understanding of the atmosphere.

Presidents (or Chairmen) of the ICDM:

  • 1967-1971: Norman A. Phillips, United States
  • 1971-1975: Raymond Hide, United Kingdom
  • 1975-1979: Aksel C. Wiin-Nielsen, Denmark
  • 1979-1983: Fedor Mesinger, Yugoslavia
  • 1983-1987: Brian J. Hoskins, United Kingdom
  • 1987-1995: Huw C. Davies, Switzerland
  • 1995-1999: Ian James, United Kingdom
  • 1999-2003: Neils-Otto Jensen, Denmark
  • 2003-2007: Peter G. Baines, Australia
  • 2007-2011: John W. Nielsen-Gammon, United States
  • 2011-2015: Richard Swinbank, United Kingdom
  • 2015-2019: Richard Grotjahn, United States
  • 2019-present: Thomas Spengler, Norway

Secretaries of the ICDM:

  • 1967-1975: Ernest Knighting, United Kingdom
  • 1975-1979: Fedor Mesinger, Yugoslavia
  • 1979-1983: Brian J. Hoskins, United Kingdom
  • 1983-1987: Huw C. Davies, Switzerland
  • 1987-1991: Jacques Derome, Canada
  • 1991-1995: Peter Taylor, Canada
  • 1995-1999: Neils-Otto Jensen, Denmark
  • 1999-2003: Joan Alexander, United States
  • 2003-2007: John W. Nielsen-Gammon, United States
  • 2007-2011: Richard Swinbank, United Kingdom
  • 2011-2015: Richard Grotjahn, United States
  • 2015-2019: Nili Harnik, Israel
  • 2019-present: Craig Bishop, Australia

Vice President of the ICDM:

  • 2017-2019: Thomas Spengler, Norway

We would like to thank previous officers of the ICDM for their help in compiling this list. Some information was also obtained from IAMAP reports from the 1970s. In the 1972 Report of Proceedings of the XV General Assembly, there is a hint that the ICDM existed in some form prior to 1967. Any additional information would be gratefully received.

Hosted by:


The Atmospheric Science Program in the Dept. of L.A.W.R., UC Davis

Page last updated: 1 August 2019
Maintained by Richard Grotjahn, UC Davis (grotjahn 'at'
Hosted by the Atmospheric Science Program of the Department of Land, Air, and Water Resources at the University of California Davis, USA